Skip to content

PROTECTING YOUR WORLD

Garage Floor
Coating Cost:
2026 Price Guide

Per square foot, per garage and per year, with the math shown. We make floor coatings, so we’ll show you what a quote should include, what prep really costs, and when a DIY kit is the smarter buy.
Garage Floor Quotes

Want a real number for your garage? Get a quote from a certified applicator.

Tell us the size of your garage and what the slab looks like. We'll connect you with an ArmorThane-certified applicator who will quote the prep, system, coats and thickness in writing.

  • Garages, shops, basements and patios
  • Polyaspartic, polyurea and flake systems
  • Prep and moisture testing spelled out on the quote
  • Contractors: ask about floor systems and training
Rather talk now? Call (417) 831-5090
Step 1 of 3
$4–$12
Per sq ft, installed
HomeGuide national range
$1,600–$4,800
A 400 sq ft two-car garage
HomeGuide, all coating types
50–70%
Of the price is labor
HomeGuide cost breakdown
3 vs 50+ mils
DIY kit coat vs pro flake system
Rust-Oleum and Simiron data sheets
Quick answer

Professionally installed garage floor coatings cost about $4–$12 per square foot in 2026: roughly $3–$7 for basic epoxy, $5–$8 for an epoxy flake system, $5–$10 for a polyurea flake system and $5–$12 for polyaspartic. A 400 sq ft two-car garage usually lands between $1,600 and $4,800, and published national averages sit near $2,400. DIY epoxy kits run about $0.50–$1.50 per square foot in material. Price your garage or check a quote.

Garage floor pricing looks random until you notice the two things most quotes and cost guides leave out: how thick the coating is, and how much prep is in the price. A water-based DIY kit rolls on about 3 mils of epoxy. One published professional flake system builds more than 50 mils of basecoat, vinyl chip and topcoat. Both get quoted "per square foot." They aren't the same product, and they don't last the same number of years.

We make polyurea, polyaspartic and polyurethane floor coatings in Springfield, Missouri, and we've supplied and trained the applicators who install them for more than 35 years. So we see both sides of the invoice. This page prices every common system with its sources, explains what prep really costs, and gives you four calculators: a cost estimator, a quote checker, a DIY-versus-pro comparison and, for contractors, a job pricer. We'll also tell you when a kit from the hardware store is the smarter buy.

Interactive tool 1 of 4

Garage floor coating cost calculator

Pick your garage size and a coating system, then tick the prep your floor needs. The calculator prices the floor at the 2024–2026 published range for that system, adds prep and stem walls, and shows what every other system would cost on the same floor, with a rough cost per year of service. It's an estimate. A site visit and a moisture test set the real number.

Cost calculator

Estimate an installed garage floor coating

Installed prices include grinding, materials and labor for a sound slab. Tick the extras only if your floor needs them.

Used when size = custom
Used when size = custom
The short concrete curb around the edge
Northeast and West Coast cities
Prep and extras your floor needs
$3,400
Estimate at selected level
$2,000–$4,800
Low–high range
$8.50
Per sq ft, all in
$194
Per year of service (est.)
Same floor, every systemInstalled rangeTypical $/sq ftLife (estimate)Per yearBefore parking
Concrete paint (pro)$400–$1,200$2.001–3 yrs$400Per the label
Clear sealer$400–$1,200$2.001–3 yrs$400Per the label
Basic epoxy, solid color$1,200–$2,800$5.005–10 yrs$2673–7 days
Epoxy flake system$2,000–$3,200$6.505–10 yrs$347Depends on topcoat
Metallic epoxy$2,800–$4,800$9.505–10 yrs$5073–7 days
Polyurea flake (1-day)$2,000–$4,000$7.5010–20 yrs$20024 h–3 days
Polyaspartic flake Selected Lowest per year$2,000–$4,800$8.5015–20 yrs$19424–48 h
Spray polyurea, high-build$2,800–$4,800$9.5015–20 yrs$217Walk-on in 2–4 h

Floor area: 400 sq ft. No moisture test in this estimate; budget $50–$300 for one. Lifespans are industry estimates, not studies.
Send these numbers to a certified ArmorThane applicator for a real quote.

How we calculated this: low = area x (system low + extras low) + stem walls at $3 per linear foot + $50 test; high = area x (system high + extras high) + stem walls at $5 + $300 test; typical is the midpoint, rounded to $50. High-cost metro multiplies low by 1.15 and high by 1.30. Cost per year divides the typical price by the midpoint of the system's estimated life. Every range is sourced in the tables below.

2026 pricing

Garage floor coating cost per square foot

Installed garage floor coatings run about $1–$3 per square foot for paint or a clear sealer, $3–$7 for basic epoxy, $5–$8 for an epoxy flake system, $7–$12 for metallic epoxy, $5–$10 for a polyurea flake system and $5–$12 for polyaspartic. Those bands come from nine 2024–2026 cost guides and installer pages, laid out below with their dates.

SystemBand we use ($/sq ft installed)Published ranges (source, date)Typical buildBefore you can park
Concrete paint$1–$3The Garage Guide $1–$3 (Mar 2026); HomeGuide $2–$4 (Dec 2024)One or two thin coatsPer the label
Clear sealer$1–$3HomeGuide $1–$3 (Dec 2024); acrylic $1–$2, urethane $1.25–$3 (Feb 2026)Penetrating or thin filmPer the label
Basic epoxy, solid color$3–$7Garage Guide $3–$5 water-based, $4–$7 solid (2026); Duration $3–$7 (Aug 2026); Cleveland $4–$7 (Apr 2026); HomeGuide $4–$10 (Feb 2026); Bob Vila $3–$12 (Apr 2024)Multiple coats of 10–20 mils3–7 days
Epoxy flake system$5–$8The Garage Guide (Mar 2026)16-mil epoxy base + chip + clear top in one published systemDepends on the topcoat
Metallic epoxy$7–$12Duration $7–$12 (Aug 2026); Garage Guide $8–$12 (Mar 2026)Pigmented epoxy + clear top3–7 days
"1-day" polyurea flake system$5–$10HomeGuide $5–$10 (Dec 2024); Garage Guide $5–$10 (2026); Cleveland $6–$9 (2026); Duration $4–$8 (2026)6–8 mil polyurea base + ¼ in. chip + 10–16 mil polyaspartic top; 50+ mils totalAbout 24 h to 3 days
Polyaspartic flake system$5–$12HomeGuide $5–$12 (Nov and Dec 2024); Garage Guide $5–$12 (2026); Duration $5–$12 (2026); Bob Vila $4–$9 (Jan 2024); Galaxy $4–$12 (Jun 2026)Similar flake build; ArmorFloor TopCoat is 14 ± 2 mils per coatAbout 24–48 h
Spray polyurea, high-build$7–$12ArmorThane (Aug 2026)60–80 mils typical on concrete floorsWalk-on in 2–4 h
For basic epoxy, the band is the median of nine published lows and nine published highs (our calculation). Where only one or two sources exist, we use them as published. The spray polyurea figure is our own published range; most third-party "polyurea" prices describe rolled systems. Parking times: Rust-Oleum (3 days for its epoxy kit), HomeGuide and The Garage Guide (up to a week for pro epoxy), Bob Vila (24 h for polyaspartic), ArmorThane. None of this is a survey, and we re-pull it each January.

The labor share explains why these bands overlap so much. HomeGuide puts materials at $1–$6 per square foot and labor at $3–$6, with labor making up 50–70% of the total. A crew grinding and coating a 400 sq ft garage does most of the same work whether the resin is epoxy or polyaspartic, so the chemistry changes the price less than you'd think. The same bands are a fair guide to concrete coating cost in general: our own concrete coatings near me page puts residential garage coatings at $3–$10 per square foot, and HomeGuide's epoxy figures for basements and patios land in the same $4–$10 range.

Price per mil: the number no estimate shows you

Thickness is the variable that makes "per square foot" misleading. Here's what the film build looks like across three very different purchases, and what each costs per mil of coating by our arithmetic.

What you're buyingFilm buildPrice per sq ftCents per sq ft per mil (our math)
DIY water-based epoxy kit, one coat3.0–3.5 mils (Rust-Oleum TDS)$0.50–$1.50 material14–50¢
Pro "1-day" polyurea flake systemOver 50 mils nominal (Simiron system guide)$5–$10 installed10–20¢ or less
Pro spray polyurea60–80 mils typical (ArmorThane)$7–$12 installed9–20¢
Mils aren't everything. Vinyl chip adds thickness without adding resin, and a thin, hard polyaspartic topcoat can outwear a thicker, softer layer. But when two "flake system" quotes differ by 40%, the mils, the number of coats and the chip coverage usually explain it.

Paint, sealers, tiles and mats: the cheaper alternatives

If you only need the floor to look cleaner for a few years, paint and sealers cost $1–$3 per square foot installed, and The Garage Guide's DIY paint numbers run $80–$200 for a two-car garage. They're also the shortest-lived options: HomeGuide gives acrylic sealers 1–3 years and floor paint 1–5. Interlocking tiles cost $3–$8 per square foot (The Garage Guide) or $2–$5 if you lay them yourself (HomeGuide), and rubber roll-out mats $1–$4. They aren't coatings, but they're fair competition on price. Our guide to the best garage floor coating ranks all of them on performance.

By garage size

How much does it cost to coat a 1-, 2- or 3-car garage?

A one-car garage (about 288 sq ft) typically costs $1,200–$3,500 to coat professionally. A two-car garage runs $1,600–$4,800 at 400 sq ft or $2,300–$6,900 at 576 sq ft, and a three-car garage (about 864 sq ft) $3,500–$10,400 (HomeGuide). The system you choose moves the price more than the size does.

GarageSq ftHomeGuide range (all systems)Basic epoxy ($3–$7)Epoxy flake ($5–$8)Polyurea flake ($5–$10)Polyaspartic ($5–$12)
1-car, 12 x 24288$1,200–$3,500$860–$2,020$1,440–$2,300$1,440–$2,880$1,440–$3,460
2-car, 20 x 20400$1,600–$4,800$1,200–$2,800$2,000–$3,200$2,000–$4,000$2,000–$4,800
2-car, 24 x 24576$2,300–$6,900$1,730–$4,030$2,880–$4,610$2,880–$5,760$2,880–$6,910
3-car, 24 x 36864$3,500–$10,400$2,590–$6,050$4,320–$6,910$4,320–$8,640$4,320–$10,370
HomeGuide garage floor coating cost (Dec 2024). System columns are our math at the bands above, before prep, stem walls or regional adjustments, rounded to $10.

Why "two-car garage" prices don't agree

Because the guides don't agree on what a two-car garage is. Bob Vila prices one at 360 sq ft ($1,100–$4,300 for epoxy), Galaxy Concrete Coatings at 360–480 sq ft, HomeGuide at 400 or 576 sq ft. A 24 x 24 garage has 60% more floor than an 18 x 20 one, so its coating costs about 60% more. The national average you'll see quoted, $2,441, is Bob Vila's epoxy figure and gets repeated on other sites; The Garage Guide puts a 400 sq ft two-car job near $2,400. Compare quotes per square foot and the disagreement mostly disappears.

How to measure your garage floor

  1. Measure wall to wall at the floor

    Length times width, in feet. Add any bump-outs or a workshop bay as separate rectangles. Don't subtract for cabinets or a freezer unless they'll stay put during the job.

  2. Count the stem walls

    Many garages have a short concrete curb along two or three walls. Measure its linear feet and height. Coating it is slow hand work, priced separately.

  3. Note steps, drains and the apron

    Steps into the house add labor. The apron outside the door is an outdoor slab in full sun, so it needs a UV-stable coating, not standard epoxy.

  4. Look for problems before the estimator does

    Cracks, spalls, oil-soaked spots, a sealer that makes water bead up, or an old coating that's peeling. Each one is a line item in the prep table below.

Epoxy

How much does an epoxy garage floor cost?

An epoxy garage floor costs about $3–$7 per square foot installed for a solid color, $5–$8 with decorative flake and $7–$12 for metallic. DIY epoxy kits cost $80–$300 for a one-car garage and $150–$650 for two cars (The Garage Guide), and water-based kit material runs roughly $0.50–$1.50 per square foot.

Epoxy typeDIY material ($/sq ft)Installed by a pro ($/sq ft)What to know
Water-based epoxy$0.50–$1.50$3–$5The classic box kit. One published kit dries to 3.0–3.5 mils per coat and covers about 250 sq ft.
Solvent-based epoxy$1.00–$2.50$4–$7Priced between water-based kits and 100%-solids epoxy.
100%-solids epoxy$2.00–$4.00$5–$10Thick film per coat. Also used as a primer under flake and polyaspartic systems.
Flake (chip) epoxy$1.50–$3.00$5–$8Chip hides dust and small flaws and adds texture.
Metallic epoxy$3.00–$7.00$8–$12A showroom look. Glossy floors can be slick when wet unless textured.
The Garage Guide (Mar 2026) for material and installed ranges; Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield TDS for the kit's film build and coverage. Per-gallon prices elsewhere: water-based $30–$50, solvent $40–$55, solid $45–$150 (Bob Vila, Apr 2024); $40–$150 by type (HomeGuide, Feb 2026).

Epoxy is the budget choice for a good reason: it's cheap per gallon, it gives a crew or a DIYer an hour or more of working time, and the right formulation makes an excellent primer. It also has two well-known weaknesses in a garage. Standard epoxy ambers and dulls in sunlight, so it's a poor choice anywhere the sun reaches the floor, and it takes days before you can park on it. Our polyaspartic vs epoxy comparison lays out the data-sheet numbers, including where epoxy still wins.

Epoxy flooring cost for basements, patios and commercial floors

The same per-square-foot logic applies off the garage. HomeGuide's February 2026 figures put epoxy at $4–$10 per square foot installed in most spaces:

SpaceTypical sizeInstalled costOur note
Garage288–864 sq ft$1,200–$8,600See the size table above.
Basement300–2,000 sq ft$1,200–$20,000Moisture testing matters most here.
Kitchen100–200 sq ft$400–$2,000Small rooms cost more per square foot.
Patio200–400 sq ft$800–$4,000Outdoors, choose an aliphatic (UV-stable) system.
Driveway288–576 sq ft$1,200–$5,800Same UV caution, plus traction.
Warehouse (polyaspartic)2,000 sq ft$12,000–$24,000Galaxy's installer figure; it also cites 10–15% volume discounts above 1,000 sq ft.
HomeGuide epoxy flooring cost (Feb 2026); Galaxy Concrete Coatings (Jun 2026).

Basements are their own animal because the slab is below grade and often damp; our page on basement floor coatings covers that case. Shops with forklifts, chemical spills or wash-down aren't priced like garages at all. They're specified by load and exposure, and our industrial flooring page is the better starting point.

Polyurea and polyaspartic

Polyurea and polyaspartic floor coating cost

Polyurea flake systems cost about $5–$10 per square foot installed and polyaspartic flake systems about $5–$12, so a 400 sq ft two-car garage runs roughly $2,000–$4,000 or $2,000–$4,800. High-build spray polyurea is a different product with a heavier film, and we publish $7–$12 per square foot for it.

What "polyurea" means on a garage floor quote

Two very different things get sold under the same word. The first is the rolled "1-day" system most garage franchises and installers offer: a thin polyurea basecoat (6–8 mils in one published system), a full broadcast of vinyl chip, then a 10–16 mil polyaspartic topcoat, for a total nominal thickness of over 50 mils. That's what the $5–$10 quotes usually describe.

The second is spray polyurea from heated, plural-component equipment. It gels in seconds and typically goes down at 60–80 mils on a concrete floor in a single system. The rig costs more and so does the material per square foot, but you're buying a much heavier membrane. Ask which one you're being quoted. Our polyurea vs epoxy floor coatings page has the performance comparison, and roll-on floor coatings explains the rolled side of our line.

Close-up of a glossy full-broadcast flake floor coating on a garage slab
A full-broadcast flake floor: chip covers the basecoat completely, then a clear topcoat locks it in.

Why polyaspartic costs more than epoxy

By our arithmetic on the published ranges, a polyaspartic flake system usually costs about $2–$5 more per square foot than basic epoxy, or roughly $800–$2,000 on a 400 sq ft garage. Part of that is material, and part is labor: polyaspartic has working times measured in minutes, so crews mix small batches and work fast. What you get for it is an aliphatic, UV-stable topcoat and a floor you can usually park on in about 24–48 hours instead of several days.

Whether the premium pays back depends on how much longer the floor lasts, which nobody has measured in an independent long-term study. Our cost-over-life calculator lets you test your own quotes, including the case where both floors last the same number of years. For the product itself, from specs to cure times, see the polyaspartic floor coating guide.

Read the fine print

Prep and repair costs most estimates leave out

Prep is where cheap and fair quotes part ways. Budget $1–$3 per square foot if grinding is itemized, $0.50–$2 for crack repair, $1–$5 for spalls and pits, $1–$3 (some installers say up to $8) to remove an old coating, $1–$5 for a moisture-mitigating primer, and $50–$300 for moisture testing.

ItemPublished costSource (date)When you need it
Diamond grinding or shot blasting$1–$3/sq ft, often in the base priceThe Garage Guide (2026)Every pro system beyond paint
Acid etching$0.50–$1.50/sq ftThe Garage Guide (2026)DIY kits; not a substitute for grinding under pro systems
Crack repair$0.50–$2/sq ft; $250–$800 flat for minor cracksThe Garage Guide; Duration (2026)Any crack you don't want telegraphing through
Spalling and pitting repair$1–$5/sq ftThe Garage Guide (2026)Salt-damaged or worn slabs
Old coating removal$1–$3/sq ft; $3–$8/sq ftThe Garage Guide; Duration (2026)Any coating that fails a tape test
Moisture test$50–$300; $200–$500HomeGuide (Nov 2024); Duration (2026)Before any system goes down
Moisture-mitigating primerAbout $1; $1–$2; $2–$5 per sq ftBob Vila (2024); Galaxy; The Garage Guide (2026)Slabs over the topcoat's moisture limit
Custom flake blend+$0.50–$2.00/sq ftHomeGuide (Nov 2024)Non-standard colors
Anti-slip additive+$0.25–$0.50/sq ftGalaxy (Jun 2026)Floors that get wet
Stem walls$3–$5 per linear footGalaxy (Jun 2026), one installerIf you want the curbs coated
Resurfacing a badly damaged slab$3–$7/sq ftHomeGuide (2024, 2026)Widespread scaling or rough, worn concrete

Grinding vs acid etching

Coatings stick to profile, not to smooth, dusty concrete. DIY kits rely on an etch (Rust-Oleum's EpoxyShield kit includes a citric-acid etch), which is fine for a thin kit coat on clean, unsealed concrete. Professional systems call for mechanical prep: one published 1-day polyurea system requires a CSP-3 or rougher profile by diamond grinding or shot blasting, per ICRI's surface-profile guideline. Grinding concrete makes crystalline silica dust, and OSHA's construction standard requires walk-behind floor grinders to run with water or the maker's dust collection system. Our surface preparation article explains why this step decides how long any coating lasts.

Moisture testing and mitigation

Moisture vapor coming up through the slab is the classic reason coatings blister and peel, and the test result decides which systems you're even eligible for. The two standard tests are ASTM F1869 (calcium chloride, reported in pounds per 1,000 sq ft per 24 hours) and ASTM F2170 (relative humidity probes set into the slab). One 1-day polyurea system allows 3 lb and 75% RH. ArmorThane's published guidance for epoxy is about 4 lb and 80% RH. Above the limit, a moisture-mitigating primer goes down first, at $1–$5 per square foot. DIY kits use a simpler taped plastic-sheet test, and Rust-Oleum states its water-based kit isn't intended for floors with a moisture problem.

Cracks, spalls, sunken slabs and old coatings

Hairline shrinkage cracks get filled and ground flush. Spalled or pitted areas need patching. A slab section that has sunk or heaved should be lifted before it's coated, since a coating won't fix the trip edge; our concrete leveling cost guide covers that job. For an existing coating, both Rust-Oleum data sheets use an X-cut tape test: cut an X, press tape over it and pull. If more than 10% (RockSolid) or 25% (EpoxyShield) of the taped area lifts, the old coating has to come off, and removal is where $1–$8 per square foot comes from.

Stem walls and steps

Stem walls are the short concrete curbs around a garage's edge. Coating them makes the floor look finished and keeps wash water off the drywall, but it's slow hand work with a brush and roller, and it's almost always priced separately. One installer publishes $3–$5 per linear foot. A 20 x 20 garage with curbs on three sides has about 60 linear feet, or roughly $180–$300 by that rate (our math).

Steps into the house are similar: small area, lots of edges. Ask for both on the quote as separate lines so you can decide.

Coated garage floor with the flake coating carried up a concrete step and along the base of the walls
Carrying the coating up steps and curbs is extra labor, usually priced by the linear foot.
Why quotes differ

What makes garage floor coating cost more or less

Six things drive nearly every difference between quotes: labor, the system and its thickness, the condition of the slab, the size of the job, customization, and where you live. Materials are the smaller part of the bill.

Labor, not resin

Labor is 50–70% of the price (HomeGuide) and up to 65% on Bob Vila's breakdown. Grinding, patching, masking and a crew's day on site cost about the same for any chemistry.

The system and its build

A single coat of epoxy and a 50-mil flake system are different jobs. Coats, mils and chip coverage are the first things to compare.

Slab condition

Cracks, spalls, oil, sealers, old coatings and moisture each add a line. On a rough slab, prep can add $1–$5 per square foot (HomeGuide).

Job size

Setup and cleanup don't shrink with the floor, so small garages cost more per square foot. One installer cites 10–15% discounts above 1,000 sq ft.

Customization

Custom flake blends add $0.50–$2.00 per square foot (HomeGuide). Metallic finishes sit at the top of the epoxy range. Logos run $200–$500 at one installer.

Location, access and season

The Garage Guide estimates urban Northeast and West Coast prices run 15–30% above national averages. One installer adds 15–25% to labor for difficult access. Cold weather narrows which products can go down.

CityTwo-car epoxy garage floor (Bob Vila, Apr 2024)
Chicago, IL$1,685–$2,825
Dallas, TX$1,340–$2,440
Los Angeles, CA$1,395–$3,010
Miami, FL$1,240–$2,685
New York, NY$1,705–$3,720
For polyaspartic, one multi-market installer publishes $7–$11 per sq ft in Phoenix and Tucson, $8–$12 in Denver and $6–$10 in Indianapolis and Cincinnati (Galaxy, Jun 2026). There's no independent regional index, so the best benchmark is three local quotes compared per square foot.
Interactive tool 2 of 4

Is your garage floor coating quote fair?

Enter the numbers on your quote and tick what it spells out. The checker converts it to a price per square foot, compares that with the published range for the system, and lists what to ask before you sign. One quote thousands of dollars below the others is usually a thinner system or skipped prep, not a better deal.

Quote checker

Normalize a quote and spot what's missing

Take stem walls, big repairs or other itemized extras out of the total so you compare the floor itself.

0 = not stated
What the quote spells out
$8.00
Per sq ft (floor only)
$5–$12
Published band
$3,400
Midpoint for this floor
6
Things to ask about

In range Within the 2024–2026 published range for this system. 400 sq ft at $3,200 for the floor. Outer published bounds for polyaspartic flake: $4–$12 per sq ft.

Ask about these
  • No moisture test listed. Ask which test (ASTM F1869, F2170 or a meter) and what happens if the slab fails.
  • Crack and joint repair not mentioned. Ask whether minor cracks are included and what larger repairs cost.
  • Number of coats not stated.
  • Total thickness (mils) not stated. It’s the easiest place to cut cost, so ask for it in writing.
  • Flake coverage not stated. A full broadcast (to rejection) and a light partial scatter are very different amounts of material.
  • No warranty term stated.

Questions to ask before you sign

  1. How will you prepare the slab: diamond grinding, shot blasting or acid etching?
  2. Will you test for moisture, and which test (ASTM F1869, F2170 or a meter)? What happens if it fails?
  3. What exact products go down, and can I see each data sheet?
  4. How many coats, and what's the total thickness in mils?
  5. Is the flake a full broadcast (to rejection) or a partial scatter?
  6. Are crack repair, stem walls and steps included, or extra?
  7. When can I walk on it, and when can I park on it?
  8. What does the warranty exclude? Look for moisture, hot-tire marks and chemical staining.
  9. Who does the work: your crew or a subcontractor? Are you trained or certified on this system?

Red flags in a cheap quote

  • Acid etch only on a pro system. Mechanical prep is what the data sheets ask for.
  • No thickness or coat count. Thin film is the easiest place to cut cost.
  • No moisture test. Moisture problems tend to show up as blisters or peeling after the crew has left.
  • "Lifetime" warranty with no written exclusions. Read what it doesn't cover.
  • A price below every published range. Ask what's different about the job.
Interactive tool 3 of 4

DIY garage floor coating cost vs hiring a pro

DIY is cheaper up front. A water-based epoxy kit costs about $0.50–$1.50 per square foot in material, or roughly $300–$700 for a 400 sq ft garage with supplies, against $1,200–$2,800 for a professional epoxy floor. The trade is thickness and life: a kit coat is about 3 mils, and published estimates give DIY water-based epoxy 2–5 years.

DIY vs pro

What DIY really costs, and what it saves

Material ranges from The Garage Guide (2026) and, for pro-grade flake materials, our math from one supplier's list prices. Grinder rental and supplies are your inputs.

One installer quotes $200–$500
Degreaser, crack filler, rollers, PPE
Leave at 0 to ignore
$300–$700
DIY total
$1,200–$2,800
Pro basic epoxy, solid color
$1,500
Typical savings
$143 vs $267
Per year, DIY vs pro (est.)

DIY material: $200–$600 for 400 sq ft of water-based epoxy kit ($0.50–$1.50/sq ft), plus $100 supplies. That’s about 2 kits at roughly 250 sq ft per kit and 3.0–3.5 mils per coat (Rust-Oleum TDS). Per-year figures use 2–5 years for DIY water-based epoxy and 5–10 yrs for the pro system (industry estimates).
Compare with a real pro quote.

How we calculated this: DIY material = area x the Garage Guide material range (water-based kit $0.50–$1.50; 100%-solids epoxy with flake $1.50–$3.00); for pro-grade flake materials, $1.75–$2.30 per sq ft from one supplier's 2026 list prices (polyurea basecoat $149 per 3-gallon kit, polyaspartic topcoat $360 per 3-gallon kit, flake $155 per box) at Simiron's published coverage, plus 10% waste. Kits for water-based epoxy = area ÷ 250 sq ft (Rust-Oleum TDS). Lifespans are industry estimates: DIY water-based epoxy 2–5 years and a quality DIY epoxy about 5 (The Garage Guide).

When DIY makes sense

  • You want a cleaner-looking floor for a few years and can recoat when it wears.
  • The slab is dry, unsealed and sound, with no old coating to remove.
  • No sun reaches the floor, or you'll accept some yellowing.
  • You can keep the car out for the three days one popular kit asks for.

When to hire it out

  • Anything that needs grinding, crack repair or old-coating removal. That's most of the labor, and a rented grinder has a learning curve.
  • Flake and polyaspartic systems. DIY polyaspartic kits do exist, but working times are short, and a cold or humid day makes them shorter.
  • A slab with a moisture question. You want a real test and, if needed, a primer rated for it.
  • You want it back in a day.
SafetyGrinding concrete releases crystalline silica; OSHA's standard for walk-behind floor grinders calls for water or the maker's dust collection. Polyurea and polyaspartic hardeners contain isocyanates, which OSHA lists as a cause of occupational asthma and skin, eye and airway irritation. Ventilate, wear the respirator and gloves the data sheet calls for, and keep kids and pets out until it cures.
The long view

Is a garage floor coating worth the cost?

Usually, if you'll use the garage for years and the slab is sound. Spread over its estimated life, a pro polyaspartic or polyurea floor on 400 sq ft works out to roughly $190–$220 a year by our math, a pro epoxy floor about $270, and a DIY kit about $140. Those lifespans are industry estimates, not measured results.

System, 400 sq ftTypical priceEstimated lifeCost per year (typical)Best–worst case
Concrete paint (pro)$8001–3 yrs$400$133–$1,200
DIY water-based epoxy kit$5002–5 yrs$143$60–$350
Pro basic epoxy$2,0005–10 yrs$267$120–$560
Pro epoxy flake$2,6005–10 yrs$347$200–$640
Polyurea flake ("1-day")$3,00010–20 yrs$200$100–$400
Polyaspartic flake$3,40015–20 yrs$194$100–$320
Spray polyurea$3,80015–20 yrs$217$140–$320
Our math: typical = midpoint of the price band; best case = low price over the long life; worst = high price over the short life. Lifespans: The Garage Guide (2026) for paint, DIY water-based epoxy, solid epoxy, polyurea and polyaspartic; ArmorThane (2026) for spray polyurea. HomeGuide gives polyurea and polyaspartic 10–20+ years and solid epoxy up to 20. No independent long-term field study exists for any of them.

Read the table with one caveat in mind. The premium systems only win per year if they really last longer than the epoxy they replaced. If your epoxy floor would last as long, epoxy is simply cheaper. That's why we'd rather you test the assumption than trust it: the polyaspartic vs epoxy cost-over-life calculator has an equal-lifespan switch for exactly this.

Does a coated garage floor add resale value?

We looked for a published study that measures what a coated garage floor adds to a sale price and didn't find one, so we won't quote a number. What a coating reliably does is make the floor easier to clean, resist oil and salt stains, and cut concrete dust. Do it because you'll use the garage, not as an investment.

When it isn't worth it

  • You're moving within a year or two. A clean, sealed slab or a coat of paint is the better spend.
  • The slab has an unsolved moisture or drainage problem. Fix the water first; our basement floor coatings page covers below-grade slabs.
  • The slab is badly cracked from settlement. Lift, repair or replace it before paying for a coating.
  • It's a rental you don't control. Mats or tiles come with you.
Interactive tool 4 of 4

For contractors: what a coated garage floor costs you to install

Material for a polyurea-basecoat, full-flake, polyaspartic-topcoat garage floor runs about $2 per square foot at one supplier's 2026 list prices. Everything else in a $5–$10 installed price is labor, grinding, equipment, travel, overhead and margin. Put your own numbers in the tool and see where your price lands against the published range.

Contractor job pricer

Material take-off, break-even and price per square foot

Coverage defaults are from Simiron's published 1-day system guide; material prices default to one supplier's 2026 list prices. Labor, overhead and margin are yours.

$2.00
Material per sq ft
$5.55
Break-even per sq ft
$7.93
Price per sq ft at margin
$3,170
Job price
LineQuantityCostPer sq ft
Basecoat1.9 gal$94$0.24
Flake, full broadcast73 lb (2 boxes)$284$0.71
Topcoat3.5 gal$422$1.06
Labor16 h$880$2.20
Diamonds and consumables$100$0.25
Mobilization and travel$150$0.38
Overhead15%$290$0.72
Margin30% of price$952$2.38

Published installed range for a polyurea-base flake floor: $5–$10 per sq ft (HomeGuide, The Garage Guide); polyaspartic flake runs $5–$12. Your price lands inside it. Labor is 28% of your price; HomeGuide puts labor at 50–70% of what homeowners pay. Pricing ArmorFloor or spray polyurea? Contact us for current material pricing, or become an applicator (no franchise fee).

How we calculated this: gallons = area ÷ coverage x (1 + waste); flake pounds = area ÷ 6 x (1 + waste) for a full broadcast; break-even = (material + hours x rate + area x consumables + mobilization) x (1 + overhead); price = break-even ÷ (1 − margin). Default coverage is the midpoint of Simiron's 200–267 sq ft/gal basecoat and a 120–130 sq ft/gal topcoat over flake; default prices are Xtreme Polishing Systems list prices (Sep 2026). The 16 hours, $55 rate and $0.25 consumables are placeholders. Replace them with your own.

The published installed range is the check on your number. If your price lands well above $10 a square foot for a standard flake floor, the market will tell you. If it lands below $5, look at whether your labor hours are realistic. Rolled systems need a grinder, a vacuum, mixing gear and trained hands; ArmorThane's own roll-on page says they "require their own unique equipment, training, and safety precautions." Spray polyurea adds a heated plural-component rig. Both are why floor coating is a trade, not a weekend project.

ArmorThane floor systems

Where ArmorThane fits, and where it doesn't

We don't sell DIY kits. If you're coating a rental garage on a tight budget, a quality kit on a clean, dry, unsealed slab is a reasonable choice, and we'd rather you spend $300 well than $3,000 you'll regret. If the slab needs grinding, sees sun, or has to be back in use quickly, that's where our systems and applicators come in.

ArmorFloor aliphatic polyaspartic is a two-component coating for indoor or outdoor floors in moderate to severe chemical environments. It goes down by roller, spray or cup gun at a minimum 5 mils, and takes Color Quartz or decorative chip for traction and looks; our texturing aggregate page explains why glossy floors need it where they get wet. ArmorFloor TopCoat builds 14 ± 2 mils per coat. For heavier duty, our applicators spray polyurea at the 60–80 mils typical for concrete floors.

Garage floor finished with a full-broadcast gray flake coating
A full-flake garage floor coating.
14 ± 2 mils

ArmorFloor TopCoat

Dry film per coat. Aliphatic polyaspartic, 65 ± 5 Shore D, SCAQMD compliant.

60–80 mils

Spray polyurea floors

Typical build on concrete, sprayed with plural-component equipment over a CSP 3–4 profile.

$0

Franchise fee

Our applicators are independent. No franchise fee and no royalties.

For contractors

Most of a garage floor's price is skill. Get paid for it.

We supply polyurea, polyaspartic and polyurethane floor systems, the spray equipment to install them, and hands-on training. Not a franchise: no franchise fee, no royalties, and startup packages from $25,000.

Questions first? Call (417) 831-5090

Straight answers

Garage floor coating cost FAQ

How much does garage floor coating cost per square foot?

About $4–$12 per square foot installed in 2026, depending on the system: roughly $3–$7 for basic epoxy, $5–$8 for an epoxy flake system, $5–$10 for a polyurea flake system and $5–$12 for polyaspartic. Paint and clear sealers run $1–$3. Prep such as crack repair, old-coating removal or a moisture primer adds $0.50–$5 per square foot where it's needed.

How much does it cost to epoxy a 2-car garage?

A professional solid-color epoxy floor on a 400 sq ft two-car garage costs about $1,200–$2,800 at $3–$7 per square foot, or $2,000–$3,200 with decorative flake. Bob Vila's national average for an epoxy garage floor is $2,441. DIY kits run about $150–$650 for two cars (The Garage Guide).

How much does it cost to coat a 3-car garage floor?

HomeGuide puts a three-car garage (about 864 sq ft) at $3,500–$10,400. By our math that's about $2,590–$6,050 for basic epoxy, $4,320–$8,640 for a polyurea flake system and $4,320–$10,370 for polyaspartic, before prep. Bigger floors usually cost a little less per square foot.

Is polyaspartic more expensive than epoxy?

Usually by about $2–$5 per square foot installed, or roughly $800–$2,000 on a 400 sq ft garage, by our arithmetic on published ranges. For that you get a UV-stable topcoat and a floor you can usually park on in 24–48 hours. Whether it pays back depends on how much longer it lasts; see our polyaspartic vs epoxy comparison.

How much does polyurea floor coating cost?

Rolled "1-day" polyurea flake systems cost about $5–$10 per square foot installed (HomeGuide, The Garage Guide), or $2,000–$4,000 for a 400 sq ft garage. High-build spray polyurea, typically 60–80 mils on a concrete floor, is a different product that we publish at $7–$12. Ask any installer which one the quote describes.

How much does a flake garage floor cost?

About $5–$8 per square foot for an epoxy flake system and $5–$12 for polyurea or polyaspartic flake systems. Custom flake blends add $0.50–$2.00 per square foot (HomeGuide). Ask whether the flake is a full broadcast, since a light scatter uses far less material.

How much does metallic epoxy cost per square foot?

About $7–$12 per square foot installed (Duration Concrete Coatings, The Garage Guide), with DIY metallic material at $3–$7. It's the priciest epoxy finish on those lists. Like other glossy floors, it can be slick when wet unless it's textured.

Is DIY epoxy cheaper than hiring a pro?

Up front, yes: a water-based kit costs about $0.50–$1.50 per square foot in material, so a 400 sq ft garage runs roughly $300–$700 with supplies. But a kit coat is about 3 mils thick, relies on an etch instead of grinding, and published estimates give it 2–5 years. Per year of service, DIY and pro epoxy end up much closer than the sticker prices suggest.

Why is garage floor coating so expensive?

Mostly labor. HomeGuide puts labor at 50–70% of the price: diamond grinding, crack repair, mixing and applying several coats, broadcasting chip, and cleanup. Materials run about $1–$6 per square foot, and crews also carry the cost of grinders and dust collection.

How much does it cost to remove an old epoxy floor?

Published figures run from $1–$3 per square foot (The Garage Guide) to $3–$8 (Duration Concrete Coatings), mostly for grinding the old coating off. It only has to come off if it's failing: two Rust-Oleum data sheets say to remove a coating when more than 10–25% of an X-cut tape test lifts. A sound, well-bonded coating can usually be sanded and recoated.

Is a garage floor coating worth it, and does it add home value?

It's usually worth it if you'll use the garage for years and the slab is dry and sound; by our math a pro polyaspartic floor costs about $194 a year over an estimated 15–20 year life. We found no published study measuring what a coated floor adds to a sale price, so treat it as a use upgrade, not an investment. If you're moving soon, paint or a sealer is the better spend.

How long does a garage floor coating last?

Industry estimates run 1–3 years for paint, 2–5 for DIY water-based epoxy, 5–10 for professional epoxy, 10–20 for polyurea and 15–20 for polyaspartic (The Garage Guide; HomeGuide gives polyurea and polyaspartic 10–20+). None comes from an independent long-term study. Prep, slab moisture and traffic matter more than the resin.

How much does epoxy flooring cost for a basement or commercial floor?

HomeGuide puts epoxy flooring at $4–$10 per square foot installed, or $1,200–$20,000 for a 300–2,000 sq ft basement. One installer prices a 2,000 sq ft warehouse in polyaspartic at $12,000–$24,000. Basements need a moisture test first, and industrial floors are specified by load and chemical exposure; see our industrial flooring page.

AT
ArmorThane Technical Team · Springfield, Missouri
Written from manufacturer data sheets, published 2024–2026 cost guides and 35+ years of making floor coatings and supporting applicators. Last updated September 26, 2026.

Methodology and sources

Price bands come from nine published cost guides and installer pages dated 2024–2026, listed below with their dates; for basic epoxy we took the median of the published lows and highs. They're our synthesis, not a survey, and we update them each January. Film builds, coverage and cure times come from manufacturer data sheets. Lifespans are industry estimates. Worked examples and per-year figures are our arithmetic.

  1. HomeGuide, garage floor coating cost (Dec. 2024): homeguide.com/costs/garage-floor-coating-cost
  2. HomeGuide, polyaspartic floor coating cost (Nov. 2024): homeguide.com/costs/polyaspartic-floor-coating-cost
  3. HomeGuide, epoxy flooring cost (Feb. 2026): homeguide.com/costs/epoxy-flooring-cost
  4. The Garage Guide, garage floor coating cost (Mar. 2026): thegarage.guide/cost-guides/garage-floor-coating-cost
  5. Bob Vila, epoxy garage floor cost (Apr. 2024): bobvila.com/articles/epoxy-garage-floor-cost/
  6. Bob Vila, polyaspartic floor coating cost (Jan. 2024): bobvila.com/articles/polyaspartic-floor-coating-cost/
  7. MyGarageFloors, garage floor coating cost (Sep. 2026): mygaragefloors.com/garage-floor-coating-cost/
  8. Cleveland Concrete Coatings, garage floor coating cost (Apr. 2026): clevelandconcretecoatings.com/blog/estimate-cost-coating-garage-floor/
  9. Duration Concrete Coatings, how to calculate garage floor coating cost (Aug. 2026): durationconcretecoatings.com/blog/how-to-calculate-garage-floor-coatin
  10. Galaxy Concrete Coatings, polyaspartic floor coatings cost (Jun. 2026): galaxyconcretecoatings.com/learning-center/polyaspartic-floor-coatings
  11. Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield water-based garage floor coating TDS: rustoleum.com/~/media/DigitalEncyclopedia/Documents/RustoleumUSA/TDS/E
  12. Rust-Oleum RockSolid Polycuramine garage floor kit TDS: rustoleum.com/~/media/DigitalEncyclopedia/Documents/RustoleumUSA/TDS/E
  13. Simiron SimFlake SB 1-Day Polyurea system guide (PDF): simiron.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/07/SIM_SimFlake-SB_1-Day-Polyurea_
  14. Xtreme Polishing Systems, polyurea floor coating 3-gal kit (list price, Sep. 2026): xtremepolishingsystems.com/products/polyurea-floor-coating-medium-gray
  15. Xtreme Polishing Systems, Rockhard Poly polyaspartic 3-gal kit (Sep. 2026): xtremepolishingsystems.com/products/rockhard-poly-3-gal
  16. Xtreme Polishing Systems, epoxy floor flakes (Sep. 2026): xtremepolishingsystems.com/products/hybrid-flake-floor-epoxy
  17. ASTM F1869, moisture vapor emission rate (calcium chloride): store.astm.org/f1869-16a.html
  18. ASTM F2170, relative humidity in concrete slabs: store.astm.org/f2170-19a.html
  19. ICRI Concrete Repair Bulletin on surface profile (PDF): icri.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/CRBMayJun14_WInkler.pdf
  20. OSHA 29 CFR 1926.1153, respirable crystalline silica: osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1926/1926.1153
  21. OSHA, Isocyanates: osha.gov/isocyanates
  22. ArmorThane, polyurea vs epoxy floor coatings (Aug. 2026): armorthane.com/polyurea-vs-epoxy-floor-coatings-which-is-better/
  23. ArmorThane, concrete coatings near me: armorthane.com/protective-coatings/concrete-coatings/concrete-coatings
  24. ArmorThane, ArmorFloor aliphatic polyaspartic: armorthane.com/products/armorflooring-product-page/armorfloor-aliphati
  25. ArmorThane, ArmorFloor TopCoat: armorthane.com/products/armorcoat/armorfloor-topcoat-4/
  26. ArmorThane, roll-on floor coatings: armorthane.com/products/roll-on-floor-coatings/
  27. ArmorThane, texturing aggregate: armorthane.com/products/texturing-aggregate/

Get a quote that shows its prep and its mils.

ArmorThane-certified applicators quote floors the way this page prices them: prep, moisture test, system, coats and thickness in writing. Contractors, we make the floor systems, supply the spray equipment and train your crew, with no franchise fee.

United States 417-831-5090 · Canada 780-444-6200

CONTACT US

REQUEST A QUOTE OR

BECOME AN APPLICATOR

ArmorThane has built a strong reputation over the past 30 years for producing high-quality, durable protective coatings.

group 115 660555abebfe4
Phone Number

Tel: 417.831.5090

group 115 1 660556c21395c
Email Us

moreinfo@armorthane.com

Step 1 of 3

We want to help you find the best ArmorThane applicator for your protective coating project. Please either fill out the request form below or call us toll free at 417-831-5090, any time Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Central Standard Time.

RV Find An Applicator

Protective Coating Applications

Products

Applicator Opportunities

Knowledge Center

Galleries